5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 8, 2016 8:13 AM by DiegoV_Intel

Using MAX7219 LED Driver With Intel Edison

Frank_1985

Hello:

I am trying to drive some 7 segment displays with the Edison (using Arduino expansion board) and the MAX7219 shift register. I am 99% sure I got the SPI bus up an running using the echo commands per the hardware guide, but I am not sure how to align the clock speed between the Edison and MAX7219. I am using the following LEDS:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00EZBGA4U?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00

I am using the LEDControl.h library in my Arduino sketch as it worked quickest with the Uno. My problem is that I am new to SPI and not sure how to adjust the clock speed to get the Edison aligned with the MAX7219. Does anyone have a suggestion on doing this in the Arduino environment? Do I need to make some type of mod to the LEDControl.h library? Any advice would be much appreciated. Arduino sample code I am using is below:

// Initialization for Small 7 Segment Displays

#include "LedControl.h"

LedControl lc=LedControl(12,11,10,1);

void setup() {

lc.shutdown(0,false);

/* Set the brightness to a medium values */

lc.setIntensity(0,10);

/* and clear the display */

lc.clearDisplay(0);

}

void loop() {

// Strike Test

strikeZero();

delay(1000);

strikeOne();

delay(1000);

strikeTwo();

delay(1000);

void strikeZero(){

lc.setDigit(0,1,0,false);

delay(10);

}

void strikeOne(){

lc.setDigit(0,1,1,false);

delay(10);

}

void strikeTwo(){

lc.setDigit(0,1,2,false);

delay(10);

}

• 1. Re: Using MAX7219 LED Driver With Intel Edison
          DiegoV_Intel

Hi Frank_1985,