1 Reply Latest reply on Feb 18, 2016 6:37 AM by ivanu_intel

Mainboard damaging Processors

Corigins

Please reserve judgement until the end, because up until now I am being treated as a heretic for what has occurred.

I am a computer retailer with a PC workshop experience operating for almost eight years. Before that I have been a SMB consultant and performed other IT related work. I'm not trying to elevate my status but to allow you understand who is having this problem.

If anybody said to me that a CPU was capable of being damaged by a mainboard then my first instinct would be to resist. Although CPU's can have their DOA problems, I think there is a belief that it is rare enough to place processors in the very (very) stable category of IT hardware. Which is why what I'm about to say has knocked the wind out of me.

I purchased an MSI 1150 socket mainboard (Mainboard "A") from a wholesaler with a (confirmed compatible) Intel Core-i7 4790 (Processor "A") to match. The system did not boot with only a debug LED flashing. Some like me would naturally believe Mainboard A was faulty so I even started doing a warranty. Since I couldn't wait for warranty turnaround, I purchased an identical MSI board (Mainboard "B"). Mainboard B with Processor A also wouldn't boot.

I then obtained an alternative "known to work processor" (Processor "B") from another system - it worked! I then thought, maybe Processor B is compatible with the current BIOS version of Mainboard B so I updated to latest BIOS version for Mainboard B - still working ok.

I put Processor A back into Mainboard B - not working! So I did what I now have come to regret, I placed Processor B into Mainboard A. It didn't work and at this stage I was still thinking Mainboard A was solely at fault, but little did I know far worse was occurring.

I placed Processor B back into its original working system, except now it wasn't working - oh ****.