1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Mar 18, 2016 1:53 PM by PabloM_Intel

GNU Radio on Intel Edison Platform?

HiFreqLoFreq

Hi Intel forums! I'll start by saying that I feel quite out of my element when it comes to this subject matter, so I apologize for any unclear statements or obvious questions. I studied HDL design and Digital Signal Processing in school and I'm trying to branch out by working on small projects that are more software-based in my free time.

Yesterday I ran into this article: http://www.rs-online.com/designspark/electronics/eng/blog/taking-the-raspberry-pi-2-for-a-test-drive-with-gnu-radio-2 In the article, the author installs a non-standard Raspbian version of GNU Radio and uses it to do some simple signal analysis using a USB SDR using his Raspberry Pi 2.

This spawned an idea for me. A few months ago, I purchased an Intel Edison platform from SparkFun, but never got around to doing much with it. I could hook a USB SDR into the peripheral USB port on the SparkFun base block and use it as a small signal storage/analysis tool. However, on my Edison I run Yocto Linux, which GNU Radio doesn't appear compatible with. So, I was looking for ideas on how to get GNU Radio installed on the Yocto system. I have attempted to use Debian-based Ubilinux on my Edison to install GNU Radio, but I could never get the WiFi to work properly. I'm not opposed to building the GNU Radio files on my Ubuntu laptop (like the top Python file) and then transferring them to the Edison. I just want Yocto on the Edison to have the ability to run the GNU Radio Companion generated code and control the SDR that way.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: GNU Radio on Intel Edison Platform?
          PabloM_Intel

Hi HiFreqLoFreq,