7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 7, 2016 11:33 AM by BMEJ

Bluetooth HC-06 data at tty

BMEJ

Hello,

Forgive me I'm a bit of a newbie here,

I have managed to connect a bluetooth module, HC-06, to the Galileo Gen 2 through the mini pci-e wifi/bluetooth card.  The bluetooth module(HC-06) is connected to an analog sensor and arduino.  How do I go about finding this data within the linux command line on the Galileo?  I have sent data this way to a PC which has a bluetooth dongle, so that information is easily captured through a terminal on a COM port. I eventually want to have my C++ code reading the bluetooth data.

Edit** I believe to focus on "tty" if I can find out which tty my bluetooth module is using?

Advice appreciated

• 1. Re: HC-06 data
          CMata_Intel

Hi BMEJ,

You can find information about the devices connected to the mPCIe port by running lspci –v and checking the files in /sys/bus/pci/devices and /sys/class/pci_bus

Some questions about this:

The HC-06 uses serial communication, why you didn’t use the pins 0 and 1 in order to use the module as a UART?

Could you provide the output you have after running ls /dev? It seems that you should have a ttyACMx on /dev, can you see this device?

Have you installed a specific driver for this?

What is the outcome of running uname –a?

Regards,

Charlie

• 2. Re: Bluetooth HC-06 data at tty
            BMEJ

Thanks for the reply,

I was a bit weary about seeing serial information via the pci-e bluetooth connection. So i suppose it's not happening.  I connected by using bluetoothctl then pairing the device, but I suppose that's no indication that any data is transferrable, but like I said, I'm a noob.

edited*long and ugly.

I didn't see any references using lspci -v about my hc-06 module. 

Are you recommending that I get another hc-06 module and connect it to pins 0 and 1 to send the data via bluetooth?

Thanks

Heres some output:

root@galileo:~# ls /dev