10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 9, 2016 11:09 AM by PabloM_Intel

Intel Galileo OpenCv Project using Eclipse IDE

davulist

Hello,

I am a newbie at Intel Galileo and opencv but this is my senior project so I have to learn. Now I have just done all the things written here IoT - Getting Started with the Intel® Galileo Board on Windows* | Intel® Developer Zone then installed Eclipse IDE and connected it to Intel Galileo. I tried blink codes and it worked. Now I want to process images with OpenCv. First of all I wrote these basic codes to capture a video from the webcam and I was expecting a window to show up and that I can see the view of my webcam on my computer. But it says Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display:

So what can I do to solve this problem?

By the way, at the end of this project it will be a tennis ball tracking robot so any ideas/methods will be appreciated.

#include <opencv/cv.h>

#include <opencv/highgui.h>

#include <X11/keysym.h>

int main(int argc, char **argv)

{

/* Start the CV system and get the first v4l camera */

cvInitSystem(argc, argv);

CvCapture *cam = cvCreateCameraCapture(0);

/* Create a window to use for displaying the images */

cvNamedWindow("img", 0);

cvMoveWindow("img", 200, 200);

/* Display images until the user presses q */

while (1) {

cvGrabFrame(cam);

IplImage *img = cvRetrieveFrame(cam);

cvShowImage("img", img);

if (cvWaitKey(10) == XK_q)

return 0;

cvReleaseImage(&img);

}

}

• 1. Re: Intel Galileo OpenCv Project using Eclipse IDE
          PabloM_Intel

Hi davulist,

I would suggest you to check these threads for more information on image and video capture.

Intel Galileo Gen2 - USB Camera

OpenCV projects ?

I was able to capture images and video on Edison using these set of instructions. Maybe you can implement some lines to your code from the discussions above.

Regards,

PabloM_Intel

• 2. Re: Intel Galileo OpenCv Project using Eclipse IDE
            CMata_Intel

Hi davulist,

Do you have updates on this?