3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 10, 2015 8:55 AM by Intel_Peter

C++ Creating Release Version

]mattjackson114

I am very new to developing using Eclipse and C++. I have noticed that every time I close my laptop or leave Eclipse that the Edison stops running code. Is there a way of creating a release version so that it can run independently from my computer?

• 1. Re: C++ Creating Release Version
          Intel_Peter

Hello ]mattjackson114,

Sure there is a way to permanently store your scripts on your Edison's storage, nevertheless it has the disadvantage that you cannot set it up using Eclipse but instead you have to compile your code directly from the Edison's internal Linux.

I'm talking of course of creating a system service. I will give you a brief example on how to do it:

1. First, you need your code. Create the file where it'll be store with "vi blink.c". Now, this is what I'm going to use:

#include <stdio.h>
          #include <string.h>
          #include <unistd.h>
          #include "mraa/gpio.h"

int main(int argc, char** argv)
          {
              mraa_platform_t platform = mraa_get_platform_type();
              mraa_gpio_context gpio, gpio_in = NULL;
              char* board_name = mraa_get_platform_name();
              int ledstate = 0;

gpio = mraa_gpio_init(13);
              mraa_gpio_dir(gpio, MRAA_GPIO_OUT);

for (;;)
              {
                  if (gpio_in != NULL && mraa_gpio_read(gpio_in) == 0)
                  {
                      return 0;
                  }
                  ledstate = !ledstate;
                  mraa_gpio_write(gpio, !ledstate);
                  sleep(1);
              }
              return 0;
          }

I will leave you the man page of vi so you can learn how to use it vi(1): Vi IMproved, programmers text editor - Linux man page.

2. Now we have to compile it and create an executable file that your Edison can run:

gcc blink.c -o blink -lmraa