13 Replies Latest reply on Oct 5, 2016 10:07 PM by hvaughan3

C++ Application for BlueZ Protocol Stack - Compile Error

stuart.h

I am new to Edison and would be grateful for some help launching my exploration of the platform's capabilities.

(1)  First, to verify instantiation of my development environment, I attempted to compile what looks like well-tested code from http://people.csail.mit.edu/albert/bluez-intro/c404.html ("BlueZ Intro") in a stand-alone program called "Sketch.cpp" (included below).  The compiler cannot resolve "inquiry_info" or "bdaddr" terms, both of which are defined in the "hci_lib.h" header file.  I suspect that the compiler can't find an implementation file for hci_lib.  Probably a newbie oversight. 

Any ideas?

I downloaded the BlueZ archive but could not find an option to give Eclipse a path to the BlueZ library directory.  I was reluctant to run the BlueZ installation, so as a workaround, I tried importing the included files directly into the Eclipse project work space, but I could not find anything like hci_lib.c in the BlueZ archive.

(2)  What would be the best way to pass the "rfkill unblock bluetooth" command to the Edison board during runtime?  It works fine from the connman connection manager, but eventually I would want to unblock Bluetooth automatically on power up.

(3)  While I'm here, any update on when Curie might be available?  It might ultimately be a better platform for my needs, and I intend to evaluate it too.

Apologies if this seems elementary, if I missed some obvious documentation, or if I am in the wrong forum. 
      My primary training is biomedical engineering.  Programming is not my longest and strongest suit -- but working on it!

Sketch.cpp below

/* Sketch for Bluetooth inquiry

* Using BlueZ-5.31

* Compiler cannot resolve "inquiry_info" and"bdaddr" terms

*/

#include <stdio.h>

#include <stdlib.h>

#include <unistd.h>

#include <sys/socket.h>

#include "bluetooth.h"

#include "hci.h"

#include "hci_lib.h"