1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2016 9:55 AM by CMata_Intel

Galileo Weirdness with Mac OS 10.7.5?

Brooklev

Hello Sages,

I am a public school teacher in NYC trying to get my students building with the Galileo Gen 2. Intel gave my school 100 of the boards with the red over current light. While it is wonderful to have boards in the hands of my students, we are struggling with some serious frustrations. Any advice on the following situations would be greatly appreciated by me and 100 high school students.

1) I was advised by Diego earlier that these particular boards must be powered only from a wall outlet through their original PSUs, so we will only be making wired devices. A few of my students are already heartbroken about this, so if anyone has discovered a workaround, we would love to know it.

2) All our students have Chromebooks and would love to program their Galileos from these laptops. Since the Chromebooks can't run a local app, I've searched for a web-based way to run and deliver Arduino code. So far I know about Codebender and ChromeDuino. Codebender does not support the Galileo and while ChromeDuino does not seem to say which boards it does and does not support, I downloaded it (admittedly not to a Chromebook) and could not get it to make a serial connection to a Galileo. Does anyone know of an online tool for Arduino code that works reliably with the Galileo Gen 2?

3) The only desktops I have to offer my students are some old iMacs running OSX 10.7.5 (the most recent OS they will tolerate).

-- I loaded them with the Intel Arduino install 1.6.0. (The iMacs would not load the Intel kernel under any newer Arduino installs.)

-- I loaded them with the FTDIUSBSerialDriver_10_4_10_5_10_6_10_7 update.

For a few weeks, the Arduino software would make the serial connection to the Galileo and upload sketches to it but it would do so with great irregularity.