3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 25, 2015 11:11 AM by nitewing117

I2C device not found with Arduino breakout kit - (SparkFun MS5803-14BA)

nitewing117

This is my first time building a project using I2C as well as using the Edison. I'm trying to get signal from the SparkFun MS5803 pressure sensor board. I first made an attempt with their demo code and noticed that no data was showing up in the serial monitor.

The breakout is connected as follows:

MS5803               Edison breakout board

GND                             GND

PWR (3.3V)                    3.3V

SDA                              SDA

SCL                              SCL

I've tried pins 2/3 (per the sparkfun hookup guide) and 4/5 (from what I've seen on the forum) for SDA/SCL and still had no output.

I then used the following code to scan for any I2C signals:

#include <Wire.h>
      void setup()
      {
        Wire.begin();
        Serial.begin(9600);
        Serial.println("\nI2C Scanner");
      }
      void loop()
      {
        byte error, address;
        int nDevices;
        Serial.println("Scanning...");
        nDevices = 0;
        for(address = 1; address < 127; address++ )
        {
          // The i2c_scanner uses the return value of
          // the Write.endTransmisstion to see if
          // a device did acknowledge to the address.
          Wire.beginTransmission(address);
          error = Wire.endTransmission();
          if (error == 0)
          {
            Serial.print("I2C device found at address 0x");
            if (address<16)
              Serial.print("0");
            Serial.print(address,HEX);
            Serial.println("  !");
            nDevices++;
          }
          else if (error==4)
          {
            Serial.print("Unknow error at address 0x");
            if (address<16)
              Serial.print("0");
            Serial.println(address,HEX);
          }   
        }
        if (nDevices == 0)
          Serial.println("No I2C devices found\n");