6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 27, 2016 11:46 AM by BMEJ

Intel Galileo Gen2 - USB Camera

IDn1984

hi,

i'm a student and i need to connect and stream a USB camera to my Galileo Gen2, in the guides that i found i have to change my OS to debian but i don't really know how to do it since i'm not linux expert, can some one help me or know a good manual for streaming video from USB camera via Galileo?

currently i have YOCTO on my Galileo

thanks

Idan

• 1. Re: Intel Galileo Gen2 - USB Camera
          PabloM_Intel

Hi IDn1984,

I haven’t done this before, but if you don’t want to do this using the Yocto image you will need to follow some steps. Also, which image are you currently using? The IoT image or the standard image?

1. First you should check that your webcam or the device that you’ll be using to do the streaming is UVC compatible, you can check a list of UVC compatible devices in here http://www.ideasonboard.org/uvc/.
          2. Apply power to your Galileo board and connect the USB webcam to the USB port of the board.
          3. Check if the UVC driver is already installed, enter: find /lib/modules/* -name ‘uvc’. If nothing is returned it will be necessary to install the UVC driver manually. Let us know if you’re having trouble with this.
          4. Verify that the UVC driver is loaded and that the webcam is detected properly. Plug your board and type: lsmod | grep uvc. What output do you get?
          5. Verify that the video device node has been created by typing: ls –l /dev/video0. What output do you get?
          6. Download ffmpeg (this is a free software that produces libraries and programs for handling multimedia data).

1. To capture video - Execute the command: <full path>/ffmpeg -s 320x240 -f video4linux2 -i /dev/video0 \ -f mpeg1video -b 800k -r 30 myVideo.mpeg. After some seconds, press q to stop capturing. Copy the file myVideo.mpeg to a PC and check the video.