3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2015 5:35 PM by CMata_Intel

Intel Edison PCI express capability

IntelEddiPci

Hey all,

I'm new to the Edison and I seem to be getting conflicting information regard PCI e.

Here it states Intel® Edison Boards — Frequently Asked Questions

"It does have I/O features found on Desktop boards or laptops that are not easily found on Arduino boards. It has features such as full USB host and PCI express capability."

I've look at the PINOUT here Intel® Edison Boards — Pin-out and I don't see anything related to PCI e.

Also I've looked at the product brief here http://download.intel.com/support/edison/sb/edison_pb_331179002.pdf and I don't see anything related to PCI e.

Does the edison have PCI e but not through the 70 pin hirose connect do I have to white wire some pins off the chip directly to make it work out?

If there is no native support is it possible to bitbang PCI e? Anyone done something similar?

Any information related to PCI e would we very helpful. I have an application that needs it.

I want the edison be host to a pci e card. I was planning on building my own custom board to support it.

Thank you.

• 1. Re: Intel Edison PCI express capability
          CMata_Intel

Hi IntelEddiPci ,

Thank you for letting us know about the statement “It does have I/O features found on Desktop boards or laptops that are not easily found on Arduino boards. It has features such as full USB host and PCI express capability.” In the FAQ for Edison. As you know, the Edison doesn’t have a PCI Express port neither pins specifically oriented to connect a PCI card. We are going to report this in order to change the document.

I haven’t seen a project like this, attaching a PCI card to the Edison but if you want to do something like this you will need:

1. To enable the PCI support in a new image.