5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 29, 2015 6:17 PM by CMata_Intel

Migrating filesystem from card partition to ext3 loopback file

Jaxter

Long story short, I have Intel Galileo gen 1 board and Debian wheezy installed on micro sd card. Everything is fine and working. However, the problem is, that the card itself is partitioned, so the only way I can backup the linux installed there is to backup the whole sd card which is 8gb, while the installation is roughly 2gb. This is quite time consuming, because I like to backup frequently since I'm really new to linux. And it is just nice to have a single file to drag and drop into the card and it just works.

The question is simple - How can I migrate the whole filesystem to a file and boot from it? Can anyone tell me what steps should I take?
      I know this is possible since there is "SD-Card Linux Image" on the page which works exactly this way, but is lacking in features (apt-get is very important for me). And please, do not suggest building my own yocto image - I have tried that and it did not work. That one is beyond my capabilities.

• 1. Re: Migrating filesystem from card partition to ext3 loopback file
          mhahn

I am not sure I completely get your issue.

What do you need to backup? The whole root file system? Or only user data? On which OS do you want to run this? If you don't build your own system but base on an existing build (Debian in your case) all you need is the deltas to this build, right?

You could for instance backup your files via rsync (which offers options to only sync updated files).

• 2. Re: Migrating filesystem from card partition to ext3 loopback file
            Jaxter

Sorry for not being clear enough.
            Debian wheezy is installed on sd card and the card itself is inserted in slot on galileo board. Galileo boots it nicely since I can ssh to it from my computer.