2 Replies Latest reply on Sep 8, 2015 2:41 PM by jamesod

How to log cause of Edison Losing WiFi connection

jamesod

I need to place the Edison in a remote environment to log and report data for long periods of time where a WiFi signal may be intermittent. For this I have created a custom board and software to log data, run a node,js server, and send email summaries. This all works just fine when the Edison is sitting at my desk with a strong WiFi signal and comfortable temperature.

On my last field test, I left it running over the weekend and had it send out emails every hour. After nine hours it stopped sending emails and was not connected to WiFi, but the data logging program was still running. The data continued to be logged over the weekend.

I need to figure out why the Edison disconnected, and how to get it to reconnect if it does.

I am relatively new to embedded Linux, so I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction toward creating a meaningful log file to start debugging here.

Of particular interest to me in this application is logging when the Edison lost connection, if it tried to reconnect, and why. The environment I put the Edison into got up to 83C, so I am wondering if there is a thermal shutdown for the WiFi at this temperature or something... The data collection still ran well for 4 days at 83C.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

• 1. Re: How to log cause of Edison Losing WiFi connection
          Intel_Alvarado

Hi

One important thing to take into consideration is the operating temperature. According to the product brief Intel® Edison Boards — Product Brief the recommended temperature range for the Edison is from 0-40°C. Operating at temperatures of 83°C, which is more than the double of the maximum recommended value doesn’t guarantee a correct performance.