1 2 3 Previous Next 41 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2016 10:20 AM by PandaBanda

Help on using the iotkit-comm library in Eclipse

ravija

Hi!

I am a novice in server programming and just been a few days working with Edison. (I have a Edison breakout board).

I have been able to run the LED blink program in C on Eclipse and other simple C programs. I needed to send data from Edison to a database server that resides on my system and searching for the same landed me to the links for iotkit-comm library on Github "intel-iot-devkit/iotkit-comm-c · GitHub" and Amazonaws "Tutorials: cloud".

I have been able to understand the basic flow of code but what I fail to understand is, how to install this library in Eclipse to be able to use it for programming.

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Help on using the iotkit-comm library in Eclipse
          CMata_Intel

Hi ravija,

In Eclipse, you can see in the Project Explorer tab your project's folder, expand that folder and select the Includes folder too, you should see something similar to the picture below. You need to use the usr/include folder to include more libraries

USRinclude.jpg

Now, you have to download the iotkit-comm-c [Github: intel-iot-devkit/iotkit-comm-c] extract the files and put a copy of the folder iotkit-comm-c/src/lib/iotkit-comm/ in the respective folder. In my case would be:

C:\Intel\iotdk-ide-win\devkit-x86\sysroots\i586-poky-linux\usr\include

After this, you must restart Eclipse and try with the example from Tutorials: cloud:

#include <stdio.h>
          #include <stdbool.h>
          #include <sys/types.h>
          #include "iotkit-comm/iotkit-comm.h"
          #include "iotkit-comm/util.h"

ServiceSpec *srvSpec = NULL;
          int msgnumber = 13; // sensor value

void callback(void *handle, int32_t error_code, void *serviceHandle) {
            Context context;
            char msg[256];
            int i = 0;
            CommHandle *commHandle = NULL;

if(serviceHandle != NULL) {