9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2015 2:37 PM by Intel_Alvarado

Adafuit LCD Backpack & Parallax Boe-bot Shield Not working

G_Da_Engineet

Hello!!

I've been struggling all day with my Edison.  I have the Blink sketch working from the Arduino, but I'm having trouble connecting my two major components:

Adafruit LCD Backpack (SPI enabled/3 pin setup) =

http://www.adafruit.com/products/292

and

Parallax Boe-bot Arduino Shield =

https://www.parallax.com/product/32333

https://www.parallax.com/product/32333

I've looked all over the web to try to figure it out.  Together or apart I can't find a fix.  I'm very new to the Edison platform and I'd really appreciate any help or suggestions.

THANKS VERY MUCH!!!!!!

• 1. Re: Adafuit LCD Backpack & Parallax Boe-bot Shield Not working
          G_Da_Engineet

Here is my script it might help:

// Robotics with the BOE Shield - ForwardThreeSeconds
          // Make the BOE Shield-Bot roll forward for three seconds, then stop.
          #include "Wire.h"
          #include "LiquidCrystal.h"
          #include <Servo.h>                           // Include servo library

Servo servoLeft;                             // Declare left and right servos
          Servo servoRight;
          LiquidCrystal lcd(3, 2, 4);
          void setup()                                 // Built-in initialization block
          {
            lcd.begin(16, 2);
            lcd.setCursor(0, 0);
            tone(4, 3000, 1000);                       // Play tone for 1 second
            delay(1000);                               // Delay to finish tone

servoLeft.attach(13);                      // Attach left signal to pin 13
            servoRight.attach(12);                     // Attach right signal to pin 12

// Full speed forward
            servoLeft.writeMicroseconds(1700);         // Left wheel counterclockwise
            servoRight.writeMicroseconds(1300);        // Right wheel clockwise
            lcd.print("Moving Forward");