8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 17, 2015 9:29 AM by DiegoV_Intel

Serial pin 0-1 burned?

cristian_lainfo

Hello all i'm new with Arduino on my lasts projects i ever work with a small form factor motherboards. I purchased a Galileo Gen2.

My project is to receive NMEA form a GPS DB9 serial port.

On my first day with Arduino, I connected directly rs232 db9 to pin 0-1 (TX to 0 RX to 1 and GND), i receive only trash in my SD file.

Finding the solution, i found i need to convert the rs-232 serial to TTL to receive. I purchased the sparkfun 232 shifter.

I connected all, DB9 to sparkfun (and powering the sparkfun with 5v), and outputs to pin 0-1 in galileo, but i can't receive nothing.

I'm using a sketch for get the data from Serial1 and save this to SD card.

Can anybody tell me if i burned the serial port? Galileo seem to work fine, all is working but i cant receive data from pins 0-1

I really like this card..

See attached, and this is the sample code.

!

#include <SD.h>

#define LED 8           // status LED for SD operations

#define BUFF_MAX 100    // size of GPS & SD buffers

File GPSlog;

void setup()

{

Serial.begin(9600); // Para el debug de consola

Serial.println("welcome");

Serial1.begin(115200);

pinMode(10, OUTPUT);   // Per SD library notes, pin 10 must be set to output

pinMode(LED, OUTPUT);

if (!SD.begin(4)) {        // SD card detected?

Serial.println("NO SD CARD");

return;

}

else   Serial.println("SD DETECTED"); // turn on LED if SD detection is OK

GPSlog = SD.open("GPS.log", FILE_WRITE);  // open/append to a file GPS.log

if (!GPSlog) {               // test if file can be opened

Serial.println("OPEN FAILED");

return;

}

else  Serial.println("FILE OPENED");  // turn on status LED if file open is OK

}

void loop()

{

char inBuffer[BUFF_MAX];    // buffer used to read NMEA lines from GPS

byte outBuffer[BUFF_MAX];   // buffer used to write NMEA lines to SD card

int sizeBuffer = 0;        // counter of how many chars per line