8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 1, 2015 9:48 AM by JernejH

XBee with Edison

hwNewbie

Hey folks,

I am a complete newbie to both Arduino and Edison. As a result my question is presumably a very simple (and potentially a dumb) one but I have been struggling this with several hours now, reading documents and forums without much luck. So I wanted to ask.

Here is what I have:

• Arduino Breakout Kit for Edison, powered by micro USB
      • SparkFun Xbee Shield
      • Series 2 XBee
      • Judging from the leds, XBee shield is working. Power is on, DIO5 is blinking green and RSSI turns on and off (there are ZigBee units around but not another XBee unit to the best of my knowledge, unless one of my neighbors has one)

Here is what I want to do:

1. Initially, I would like to access the XBee from the Edison itself to interact with XBee with AT commands
      2. Then, I would like to access XBee with XCTU running on my computer running OS X and change the firmware for API mode
      3. Eventually, I would like to write a code on the Edison that will access the XBee in API mode (this is the end goal).

Step 3 is out of the scope of this post. But as a starter, I could not get either step 1 or step 2 to work.

Here is what I tried:

• If I understand it right, /dev/ttyMFD1 is the serial port that will communicate with the XBee unit on Edison.
        • I tried accessing it with screen /dev/ttyMFD1 9600, nothing seems to be happening. I am at least expecting to see something on the screen and get a response to ATVR command, which should return the firmware version. I don't see anything and there is no interaction. I also tried 115200 bps, same result.
        • I tried this with the switch on XBee shield in DLINE mode, also with UART mode. No change.
      • Then I tried to access the XBee unit from the XCTU software running on my Mac.
        • My Mac can communicate with Edison on /dev/tty.usbserial-Axxxxx, and I tried to scan on that same port with XCTU without any luck.