3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 9, 2015 1:17 PM by Intel_Peter

Intel Edison - Arduino bluetooth connection/management/communication

eyrdor

Hi,

I am new to the Intel Edison and wanted to find out a way to manage Bluetooth connections and information (e.g. MAC address) using Arduino Code (i.e. Libraries).

My end goal is to manage Bluetooth settings, connections and communication using Arduino code to communicate (i.e. bidirectionally with data and files)  with an Android device.

What have I been able to get running?:

I am not able to use Eclipse (C++) or the Intel XDK iot due to certain firewall issues.

Any help or direction is great appreciated.

thanks

• 1. Re: Intel Edison - Arduino bluetooth connection/management/communication
          Intel_Peter

Hello eyrdor,

What exactly are you trying to achieve?

If you are trying to manage the Bluetooth setting, I believe you'll find it easier using the Linux side. For example you could use the hcitool command or the bluetoothctl environment.

I'll leave you here the Intel® Edison Bluetooth* User Guide so you can gather more information about the Edison's Bluetooth capabilities.

By the way, if you still want to use the Arduino side, I'd suggest you to create system calls. For example, I noticed that you asked how to get the Bluetooth's MAC address from the Arduino side, so here's a short example:

void setup()
          {
            system("rfkill unblock bluetooth");
          }

void loop()
          {
            system("hcitool dev > /dev/ttyGSO");
            delay(500);
          }

Peter.

• 2. Re: Intel Edison - Arduino bluetooth connection/management/communication
            eyrdor

Hi,

thanks Peter,

My goal is to be able to dynamically connect to the Bluetooth component of the Edison from an Android application (using a provided MAC address through some other component),