4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2015 8:55 AM by juanB

mraa c++ UART + edison mini breakout.

juanB

Hi, I'm new with intel Edison and I'm trying to develop a c++ application to read data received in edison's uart gpio's and write it to console (in the future the data must be filtered and sent via wifi or serial).

I'm working with intel Edison + mini breakout board and I've done all tutorials in order to flash it with last firmware, install drivers and developers kit in pc, connect to pc with putty (microUSB serial port) and I've configured eclipse in order to deploy applications in the Edison (Hello world succesfully run).

Next step for me was update mraa library in windows (for eclipse) and in the intel Edison.

I think it is correctly updated because it matches every function (for example write, read, setBaudRate...) and previously eclipse nor edison recognize them.

I'm trying to run the example for uart c++ in mraa (https://github.com/intel-iot-devkit/mraa/blob/master/examples/c%2B%2B/Uart-example.cpp) and I'm unable to make it work.

I know I need to see the pin correspondence for mini breakout (https://github.com/intel-iot-devkit/mraa/blob/master/docs/edison.md), but for any reason it doesn't work.

Is it necessary to enable pins in linux with this kind of commands: How to enable PIN0/PIN1 for UART usage (TX/RX)?

For example, if I need to use uart-1-RX (26 in mraa) to 38400 bauds, May be the code this way? I modified the code to read from uart.

About the code:

1. Is it necessary the second initialisation? (lines 27- 33)

if yes, why? is it to make correspondance between the pin and a serial tty? How do I know what tty I need to use?

2. If I run the code below the errors are

Error while setting up raw UART, do you have a uart?

terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::invalid_argument'

what():  Error initialising UART

Aborted

logout

3. If I run it without lines 27- 33 the errors are: