1 2 Previous Next 28 Replies Latest reply on Mar 25, 2015 12:17 PM by ForumMigrationAdmin

IoT dashboard Control/Actuator working code or tutorial?

ForumMigrationAdmin

Hi there,

I am new to all of this, but fairly technical, UNIX guy, some coding background but I am not a developer full time and am trying to learn Intel's Edison IoT.  I have a new Edison and an Arduino and am using the Arduino IDE and SSH to the device. When I started I re-flashed the Edison with the latest and set up an IoT Analytics account. I have the device registered with and and able to send to the analytics dashboard (https://dashboard.us.enableiot.com) and it works fine. I have sent a number of observations temp, humidity and a "seismograph" sensor I created. It all worked fine. I am also able to connect to the Arduino/Edison and read and activate a number of Grove sensors, etc. and it all works fine. I can turn lights on, flash them, read the sound, temp sensors, turn on the relay, etc. all fine.

What I am REALLY trying to do is control an LED from the Cloud. After reading all of the tutorials and getting this far I tried to run the Actuator example program and it didn't work. First it was syntax errors by I managed to correct those (conflicting libraries between the iotkit and arduino libraries. The code compiles fine and I am able to successfully send a command (LED On, value 1, component "powerswitch", command "LED.v1.0", value 1 and did this 5 times successfully tonight.

The problem is nothing happens on the board! No light, no message in the serial window, no message to the user, no error, nothing.

I read that you have to enable mgtt mode not REST so I did that but I'm at a loss. the sample code is complicated to me and I don;t udnerstand all parts of what it is doing. My specific questions are:

• how can I view/see a log to even know if the Edison received the call from the cloud?