9 Replies Latest reply on Mar 26, 2015 4:40 PM by Paul Bearne

Intel Edison and low level programming

captainwalnut94

Hello everyone! I'm studying computing engineering in Spain and I have some doubts about the new Intel Edison.

I have to do a project about anything using a SoC but without high-level programming. In our labs we use a freescale KL25Z, but I would like to use an Intel Edison to do it (maybe an Arduino Breakout Kit would do the trick).

Firstly, I have to get an schematic (I think it's that: http://download.intel.com/support/edison/sb/mini_edison_breakout_hvm_8_26.pdf) and a hardware guide to learn about its pin usage (http://download.intel.com/support/edison/sb/edisonbreakout_hg_331190006.pdf, maybe this?).

Secondly, I will need some help from you to achieve bare-metal programming. For example, we did a C program to blink a LED, we had to address a pointer to a particular pin and then modified its value to do it, but I've been researching about how to do it on an Edison and I've only found high-level programs, is there a way to do it like we did with the KL25Z?

And finally, is there a way to use Eclipse IDE C/C++ without having another Eclipse IDE for an Intel Edison? (I'm using Fedora 21, if it's helpful).

I hope you have understood me, my english it's pretty bad and Google Translator it's not my best friend.

Very grateful for your help!

• 1. Re: Intel Edison and low level programming
          CMata_Intel

Hi captainwalnut94

If you want to use the Edison with the Arduino Expansion board, you have to use the next documentation:

Hardware Guide

Schematic

Hardware Guide of the Compute Module

About your second question, have you tried to create a C-code or a bash script to interact with the GPIO.

You can use mraa and C programming like this example

Or you can create a script using indications like the ones in Section 11 from the Hardware Guide

Is this helpful or do you need an application at a lower level than this?

Regards;

CMata