6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 16, 2015 3:28 PM by duBe68

Can this be done with Edison?

duBe68

Hello,

I have no experience at all with Edison & very little experience with electronics / programming, so please accept my apologies up-front.

I have a need to create a device that:

a.  Has ONE (1) incoming RS232 port

b.  Has FOUR (4) separate outgoing RS232 ports

c.  "reads" an incoming RS232 stream,

d.  look at the first 2 Bytes of info

e.  check for the "address" (2nd byte)

f.  if it is addressed "FF 01 .........", forward the complete original data out PORT 1 ONLY

g.  if it is addressed "FF 02 ........." re-address the data to "FF 01 ........" and forward the complete data out PORT 2 ONLY

h.  if it is addressed "FF 03 ........." re-address the data to "FF 01 ........" and forward the complete data out PORT 3 ONLY

i.  if it is addressed "FF 04 ........." re-address the data to "FF 01 ........" and forward the complete data out PORT 4 ONLY

Here is a drawing of this for those who are more "visual" like me.

PelcoD---prototype.jpg

Is this possible with the Edison?

If so, would anyone be willing to "tutor" me in learning how to get this done?

If not, would anyone be able to suggest a more suitable platform to achieve it?

Many thanks in advance,

duBe

• 1. Re: Can this be done with Edison?
          Frederick Blais

Short answer would be no. The Edison has only 2 hardware serial port. With the Linux overhead, it would be probably too slow to make software serial. Your application is really simple and the Edison is really overkill for this. This could be easily done with a microcontroller with 5 serial port (which is no so common IMO). It would be really easy to do with a Propeller chip from Parallax. Try to re-post your question on their forum : http://forums.parallax.com/ and I'm sure there will be 3-4 persons willing to help you. You could also do that on a small FPGA or CPLD.

Fred

• 2. Re: Can this be done with Edison?
            duBe68