11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 29, 2015 7:27 AM by KurtE

Intel edison with multiple sensors in small size (sensor suit, 10x SPI?)

kirilligum

Hi,

I'm working on a sensor suit and currently using arduino but I want to see if I can switch to edison.

What stops me is that arduino pro mini is small and has enough pins to connect sensors through SPI (i2c allows only 2 sensors).

the sensors that i'm using is mpu9250. I went with SPI because mpu9250 allows only for 2 different i2c addresses.

intel edison doesn't have that many ports and I couldn't find information on multiplexers for edison. I'm also still new to this.

I would rather not use an expansion board because it has to be wearable. But i do understand that one way to go about it is to use arduino-edison board and figure out details later.

So, any advices or guidance on getting a large number of SPI ports from intel is highly appreciated.

Best regards,

--Kirill

• 1. Re: Intel edison with multiple sensors in small size (sensor suit, 10x SPI?)
          DiegoV_Intel

Hi kirilligum,

If I'm not wrong the Arduino Pro Mini has one SPI port, so how did you connect your sensors to it? And why did you say Edison has fewer ports than the Arduino Pro Mini?

You could use the Edison with the Arduino Expansion Board and use it as an Arduino UNO. You will have access to the SPI port like in the Arduino.

Now, to attach many SPI devices you only need one SPI interface and a CS (chip select) for each one. All the devices will be attached to the same SPI bus and they will be selected through the CS pin of each one.

Regards,

Diego.

• 2. Re: Intel edison with multiple sensors in small size (sensor suit, 10x SPI?)
            kirilligum

I'm still getting the code to work for spi on arduino but the way I connected it is i used one spi port (miso,mosi,clk) for all sensors and a separate CS foe each sensor.