2 Replies Latest reply on Mar 9, 2015 9:40 AM by dferyance

Galileo Sheild Devices

rden3

Hello,

I'm a relative newbie to the Galileo board, but a reasonably experienced Linux user.

I have a Galileo working with a kernel I compiled, grub, and multistrap Debian userspace, booting from an SD card, and working with a mPCIe WiFi adapter - and that seems all fine.

What I'd like to do now is use some shield devices. Please excuse me if it a bit of a newbie question, I have never used anything like shields before - I'm more used to working with USB or PCI devices.... Is there a way of shield devices working in a similar fashion?

I've plugged in a shield, I think I have the jumpers in the correct place, but now what?

What steps must I take to get to the point where a a WiFi shield appears in the system as wlan1?

Or a GPS shield appear as /dev/gps0 ?

I'm wondering whether for devices like GPS shields they are simply serial like /dev/ttyS0 or something - but then I don't quite understand how something more complex like a WiFi shield or Ethernet shield would work - wouldn't the system expect to see them as wlanx or ethx in order to use them, and not as a serial device?

I find many examples of "sketches", but I'm not particularly interested in these - there's surely a way more like you would on a PC?

Do I require more kernel modules, or some other kind of shield firmware, or is it something that the right udev rule could handle?

Apologies if this has been asked before, but I have exhausted my search efforts...

Any point in the right direction or similar experiences that would help better my understanding would be very much appreciated!

Regards,

Rob

• 1. Re: Galileo Sheild Devices
          CMata_Intel

Hi rden3

As you may know the supported OS is the Yocto one and the Shield Test Report was done using the Arduino IDE. Unfortunately there are none official tests with Debian nor using Linux.