5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 5, 2015 5:48 PM by LB@SDS

H97 RAID 5 with five HDDs write performance issue?

PetrJ

Hello,

I have MSI H97M ECO motherboard. My setup is:

Intel Pentium G3420

MSI H97M ECO

4x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM

1x SSD OCZ Vertex 4 128GB - for system

5x 640GB WD Green WD6400AACS

This is my home server hardware. I have Windows Server 2012 R2 installed.

"First, I would like to inform, that I have green drives because of little noise and lower heating. I have been using them for several years and these are working very well and I don't have reason to change them. Capacity is enough for me. I have had been using just four of them, because I had MB with just 4 drives in raid support. Therefore I bought new MB, to be able to use all of them."

This is my home server hardware. I have Windows Server 2012 R2 installed.

My problem is with RAID performance.

When I have all five drives in RAID 5, the performance is:

R:300MB/s W:25MB/s (When I disable write cache, it is only R:240MB/s W:8MB/s)

But When I setup RAID 5 only with four of them (any combination) the performance is OK:

R:260MB/s W:240MB/s sequential

Why is such a difference between 4 and 5 drives write speed? 

Is there some limitation with Intel RST and amount of drives?

I have noticed, when I configure RAID with five drives, it is initialized automatically. But with four drives, the initialization can be done later manually.

I have latest version of RST and latest BIOS. The problem doesn't seem to be on the side of the motherboard manufacturer, but on Intel with H97 chipset.

I appreciate any comment

Thank you very much

Petr Janousek

• 1. Re: H97 RAID 5 with five HDDs write performance issue?
          PetrJ

I have done some more testing. Here are ATTO Disk benchmark:

1) RAID 5 with 5x HDD

R5-5xHDD.PNG

2) RAID 5 with 4x HDD

R5-4xHDD.PNG

3) RAID 5 with 3x HDD

R5-3xHDD.PNG

4) stripe RAID 0 with 5x HDD - just for testing, if there is not some problem with five drives setup