5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2015 7:40 AM by BenKissBox

How to expand the number of GPIO pins

warmour

Hi All,

Is there a way to expand the number of GPIO pins on the galileo? I have a project that will need to control several solenoids, 4x ultrasonic distance measurements and also some servos. I also need 3x temp probes.

I'm new to this - can someone give me some hints please

Cheers!

• 1. Re: How to expand the number of GPIO pins
          Intel_Alvarado

Hi warmour,

I believe what you are asking can’t be done. The GPIOs of the galileo board are already set to pins internally. Take a look at EmutexLabs  table 4.3, there you’ll find the pin configuration for the Gen 2 board. How many GPIOs do you need for your project?

Regards

Sergio

• 2. Re: How to expand the number of GPIO pins
            xbolshe

In my understanding it is possible to create a shield with I2C-to-pin expanders with a quantity you need (for example, for 800 pins).

For example, see a link http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/pcf8574.pdf or   http://www.nxp.com/documents/data_sheet/PCA9564.pdf

Same idea has already implemented on your Intel Galileo board

If you will use several solenoids, 4x ultrasonic distance measurements, servos, 3x temp probes with I2C/SPI control buses, you just need to connect them to Galileo board with wires (and may be add a few additional pins).

• 3. Re: How to expand the number of GPIO pins
              Intel_Alvarado

Hi

That’s interesting! Yes, you can try using xbolshe’s approach. A said in the previous post you will need to connect additional wires to your board but it can be done if using I2C as described in the datasheets. Give it a try and let us know your results.

Regards

Sergio

• 4. Re: How to expand the number of GPIO pins
                CMata_Intel

Hi warmour

Did the last suggestion work for you? Have you investigate more about this?

Regards;

CMata

• 5. Re: How to expand the number of GPIO pins
                  BenKissBox