1 2 Previous Next 20 Replies Latest reply on Nov 21, 2015 8:51 AM by Frederick Blais

Python script as background process

bpryer

Can anyone shed light on either of these questions?  This is more of a Linux question than it is python.

1. What is the recommended method to launch a python script upon boot?  Since I am new to the Linux OS, my initial investigation led me to go the route of systemd init script utilizing start-stop-damean command to launch my python application in the background.  Can anyone shed some light on what approaches are available? 
      2. I would like to be able to ssh into the Edison and launch a python script and exit the Edison without stopping my program, but I have not been successful thus far.  Are there linux commands that I can utilize to force a script to run in the background?

thanks,

• 1. Re: Python script as background process
          David_J_Hunt

1. If you're using ubilinux (Debian), you can add your startup command to /etc/rc.local

2. Maybe use

nohup <your command> &

Then you can log out and your process will keep running. The output will go to nohup.out.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Python script as background process
            bpryer

David,

Thank you for the insight.  I have tried the nohup, but I ran into the following problems:

• The when using print within python it creates a nohup.out file in the location of the script itself.
              • How can I turn this functionality off other than removing it from my script?  Can I change the location of the output file to the sd card?
            • When I log back into the Edison after logging out I don't see the python script running when using he "top" command to get all running processes.

Any suggestions?

Brent

• 3. Re: Python script as background process
              intel_jassowski

When you use nohup, you need to capture stdout and stderr, otherwise they will be directed to the nohup.out file in the local directory.