4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 20, 2015 1:33 PM by dferyance

Why would I buy a Galileo?

oneoclockjump

I've been building Arduino projects for a couple of years now, so I feel like I'm past the point of being a beginner. I've had the Galileo (and also the Edison) on my radar for a little while now, but even after a fair bit of Googling, I still can't work out why I would buy a Galileo.

My questions are:

What makes the Galileo Gen 2, not necessarily better than one of the many Arduinos, but different to, say, an Arduino Mega or Yun?

I found a long article about the Galileo vs the RPi, but not a great deal about Arduinos.

From what I have read about the Galileo, it has the same inputs/outputs as an Uno R3, you can run the same sketches and even use the terrible Arduino IDE, so what can the Galileo do that I can't do with an Arduino?

• 1. Re: Why would I buy a Galileo?
          dferyance

It always depends on your purposes for it. I got it because I was intrigued by a cheap (relatively) x86 SBC board in a field full of ARM processors. The Arduino headers is also a nice touch. So I just wanted something different to mess with.

Compared to an Uno or Mega, you have much more RAM and processor capability. It doesn't have only the same IO but has USB, a separate UART, and PCIe. I highly recommend adding the WiFi + Bluetooth PCIe card to it. This gives you USB, WiFi and Bluetooth without having to stack 3 shields together to get it. Compared to the shield cost, it probably will save you money too. Also the USB and networking support is through the OS rather than in the sketch. This gives you much more powerful device and protocol features.

Because it runs Linux, there are many devices and programs you can run that you just cannot on a standard Arduino. The Yun is very different from the other Arduinos. I don't have one to compare so it might be similar to the Galileo. But Compared to the Uno or Mega, Galileo is much more powerful.