4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 15, 2015 11:01 AM by DiegoV_Intel

Edison and Full HD

steph2014

Hi!

I am new to Edison and currently using Raspberry for my prototyping. However, I would like to understand if the Edison platform would be useful for my little project.

My project involves the picamera, which records video in Full HD (1080p) and stores it on a flash drive. It is later transferred through Bluetooth to my PC or mobile.

As the Edison has quite a powerful processor, includes onboard Bluetooth and WIFI and has a large RAM and Flash drive, I wonder if it is feasible to run a Full HD recording on it. It is a bit less powerfull than a Raspberry Pi (700Mhz while Edison only 500), and it does not have a multimedia co-processor (to my knowledge). Also, I did not yet find a similar camera module as the Pi Camera, but I imagine it is feasible to create one with limited features. However, I wonder if the Edison is able to process Full HD at all. The demos I saw on this forum all involved rather low res (300x200), which would not be suitable for my project...

Anybody an insight into this matter?

Thanks a lot!

• 1. Re: Edison and Full HD
          DiegoV_Intel

Hi steph2014,

Your project looks very cool; however I'm not sure if you can perform it with Edison. As you said, Edison doesn't have a multimedia co-processor and it wasn't designed for video applications like Raspberry Pi.

I have seen some video applications in the Community but they use webcams or TFT displays, take a look to this thread: Re: Built a little Edison video game console running Doom.

If you want to try using the Edison for this project I invite you to post your results here to let the Community know about them.

Regarding the Edison/Raspberry Pi comparison, I'll recommend you to check this site: Raspberry Pi, Beaglebone Black, Intel Edison – Benchmarked. There is a very well analysis that you might find interesting.

Regards,

Diego.

• 2. Re: Edison and Full HD
            steph2014