Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14539 Discussions

Touching the back of an i5-4690K - Can I still install this and guarantee it'll work?

MTour3
Beginner

Hand contact has been made with the back of my i5-4690K processor.

Long story short

... so after touching it multiple times (Including the center, the gold plates, literally everything), and having it set on the table contact-side down, is it actually going to affect my processor? Is it critical to clean it with 90% (or more) isopropyl alcohol? What happens if I don't clean it? Am I going to have to buy a new one?

Before any criticism about being an idiot for touching the back of the CPU, here's what happened:

This is my first time building a PC myself, I bought all my parts in intent to build a powerful gaming PC, everything is compatible. Also, just a quick disclaimer, I do know how to build a computer, I'm not just expecting to throw a couple things together and let magic do the rest. Anyway, I actually didn't know that the processor I had was a pinless processor (Meaning there are no pins on the bottom, instead the pins are on the CPU socket) So I place my CPU in the socket of the motherboard, and try to lock it in. My mistake here was: I pushed down the arm before the plate, when I was supposed to do it in the opposite order, now this doesn't mess up the CPU or anything, it just doesn't close. I pick up the CPU again to re-assure I'm not doing anything wrong, and I look at the bottom of the processor. I freak out, get a boost in heart rate and yelp when I found out that there are no pins on my processor! At this point, I thought I had broken it, since I was a bunch of pins on my socket! (Which I was stupid enough not to realize that this is how it was in the first place) I also happened to think that the pins on the socket were bent! So I try to unbend them, in hope of getting the CPU to sit on the pins instead, (not knowing that I was doing the opposite of 'unbending') then I gave up b