1 2 Previous Next 22 Replies Latest reply on Jul 12, 2015 8:09 AM by Koen.Bruyninckx

How to play audio on Edison - instructions

AlexT_Intel

Responding to several threads on the matter I realized it's worth summarizing the steps necessary to enable audio playback on Edison, so I went ahead and created a blog post: http://alextgalileo.altervista.org/blog/lets-make-noise-play-audio-edison/

This thread is for your feeback or any additional questions you may have.

• 1. Re: How to play audio on Edison - instructions
          Jozef Tanzer

Hi.

I really enjoyed your latest blog but I still have a question. Is it possible to play audio without a USB sound card just by using a usb headset/mic/speaker. I need to make Edison play audio and make it all as small as possible and I think having to add a sound card could be a problem sizewise.

Also sorry if I sound like an idiot now, I am new to this stuff.

Any help would be appriciated.

Thanks

• 2. Re: How to play audio on Edison - instructions
            AlexT_Intel

Hi Spanky1999

No worries, it indeed looks like you're new to this stuff, but that's fine - everyone is new to something at one point or another

In short - to be able to play sounds on any computer, you need a "sound card" (let's simplify, it can mean different things in reality) - something that will convert binaty data to an actual analog signal.

Edison does have a part of it, however it's not currently fully enabled + there's simply no audio jack for you to connect to as this audio piece needs some additonal components to form a complete solution.