4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 4, 2015 2:07 AM by paulpw

Adafruit PN532 RFID board & Edison?

ChemicalOli

Does anyone know if the Adafruit PN532 RFID board is compatible with the Intel Edison Kit for Arduino board?

I'm totally new to this so any advice or recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Adafruit PN532 RFID board & Edison?
          DiegoV_Intel

Hi ChemicalOli,

I've just searched for information about that shield and it seems to be compatible with the Edison Arduino kit at least in the hardware side since the shield uses an I2C interface and the Edison also has I2C interface. Regarding the software side, Adafruit offers the library for the shield however I'm not sure if it will work with Edison. Apparently it is compatible with Galileo, so you could try using it with the Edison in order to know if the library is also compatible with Edison.

#if defined(__AVR__) || defined(__i386__) //compatibility with Intel Galileo

Unfortunately I don't have the shield to test it and make sure it is 100% compatible, but if you decide to try using the shield I invite you to post your results in the Community.

Regards,

Diego.

• 2. Re: Adafruit PN532 RFID board & Edison?
            ChemicalOli

I've just tried the board now. Compiling one of the provided Adafruit sketches yields the following error message. Ignore the Galileo bit, I'm using an Edison

Arduino: 1.5.3-Intel.1.0.4 (Windows 7), Board: "Intel® Edison"

In file included from C:\Arduino_Galileo\hardware\arduino\edison\cores\arduino/Print.h:26:0,

from C:\Arduino_Galileo\hardware\arduino\edison\cores\arduino/Stream.h:26,

from C:\Arduino_Galileo\hardware\arduino\edison\cores\arduino/HardwareSerial.h:24,

from C:\Arduino_Galileo\hardware\arduino\edison\cores\arduino/TTYUART.h:5,

from C:\Arduino_Galileo\hardware\arduino\edison\variants\edison_fab_c/variant.h:20,

from C:\Arduino_Galileo\hardware\arduino\edison\cores\arduino/Arduino.h:33,