5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 22, 2014 4:35 PM by Tage

Solar Powered Edison concept - power considerations

deium

Okay here is a concept for the group.  I am wondering if Edison could be solar powered, and I am asking what kind of considerations would need to be made to ensure that it provides enough power to an Edison mini breakout board with a li-ion battery.   My thought is that Edison draws from the li-ion battery and the panels provide the ongoing charge. The goal is a solar powered self sufficient Edison.

• 4 or 6 panels:  3"x6" solar cell panels - 15% efficiency, 0.5A x 3.6V 1.8W each panel.
      • Lithium Ion battery

PS: My background is in software, so be easy on me when discussing this, but I think it could make a nice project for the Edison community

• 1. Re: Solar Powered Edison concept - power considerations
          tintar

this has been done with a lot of embedded type devices already, look up about e.g. mesh potato (low power telecom / wireless mesh bubble) - I love building remote/standalone stations with those things -  http://developer.servalproject.org/dokuwiki/doku.php?id=content:meshextender:solar_operation

(you can see it already gets massive, they are using 12V 30aH battery and 40W solar panel, and meshpotato is not a device that uses much power)

it's really just all arithmetic...

- how many hours per day will the edison need to be on battery

- how much power does it draw per hour

--> gives you what amp-hour battery you need

(and you probably really don't want to be draining the batter full-dead overnight every time - you really don't want it getting less than 50% or maybe even not that low)

- typical retail panels usually end up at about 17-18V in full sun (barely squeaking by if directly connected to J21, and I have no idea if it would be tolerated if the panel happened to spike at say 19V or 20V - open-circuit they can max more like 22-23V, even.)