4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 6, 2014 10:49 AM by Intel_Alvarado

Connect Galileo to mac via ethernet

Silenus

Hey guys, all the examples I can find for connecting to the Galileo directly through ethernet to the computer involve using a PC. I am trying to access the galileo terminal on a mac via ethernet from the Galileo to a thunderbolt port on my mac. I have uploaded the sketch (attached) to the board in order to start the ethernet, however I am unsure of what to do after this. Could anyone provide me with some assistance? Sorry, I'm still a bit new to networking.

• 1. Re: Connect Galileo to mac via ethernet
          mhahn

con't find your sketch attachment. Anyways, what do you try to achieve? If you want to access and work with the native Linux on Galileo I would suggest to connect via ssh to the system.

If you use e.g. the Yocto* SD card image from https://software.intel.com/en-us/iot you already have a ssh daemon running on the target.

• 2. Re: Connect Galileo to mac via ethernet
            Silenus

I have the Yocto 1.6 image on the sd card already. When I connect the ethernet to my mac, I'm assuming I leave it as DHCP? The arduino sketch that i uploaded was:

#include <SPI.h>

#include <Ethernet.h>

// the media access control (ethernet hardware) address for the Galileo:

byte mac[] = { 0xDE, 0xAD, 0xBE, 0xEF, 0xFE, 0xED }; 

//the IP address for the Galileo:

byte ip[] = { 192, 168, 0, 2 };   

void setup()

{

Serial.begin(9600);

Serial.println("Attempting to start Ethernet");

if (Ethernet.begin(mac) == 0) {

Serial.println("Failed to configure Ethernet using DHCP");

Serial.println("Attempting to configure Ethernet using Static IP");

Ethernet.begin(mac, ip);

}

Serial.print("Your IP address: ");

Serial.println(Ethernet.localIP());

}

void loop () {}

If I want to ssh to the Galileo, I bring up terminal and type ssh root@<ip address> but what is the ip address of the board?

• 3. Re: Connect Galileo to mac via ethernet
              mhahn