4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2014 4:23 PM by Andromeda

Remote Management Unit Binary for Quark SOC

Andromeda

I am new at the x86 architecture for embedded systems. I am trying to set up the Quark SoC X1000 installed in the Galileo Board from scratch. I want to develop an operating system. Long term project; also a learning opportunity.

At this point I am trying to understand how to start the processor. My question is this, is the binary code provided by Intel for the Remote Management Unit in the Galileo board as part of the BSP exclusively developed by intel or can the developer write his or her own code for the RMU?

The Binaries provided by Intel come with a proprietary license and there is no detailed mention of the operation of the RMU in the datasheet. There is, however, a detailed description of the registers, and I also understand that the RMU binaries are fetched from the SPI memory device before the processor starts executing any code at all. The first 2KB reads from SPI before reading top of memory - 16.

Here, I want to ask another question: is there a more detailed description of the RMU operation?

Thanks beforehand.

• 1. Re: Remote Management Unit Binary
          JPMontero_Intel

Hi Andromeda

I think the information you are looking is in the UEFI Firmware Writer’s Guide https://communities.intel.com/docs/DOC-22477 . More Quark documents can be found at https://communities.intel.com/community/makers/documentation/quarkdocuments. Also the software developer’s manuals for the architectures might be useful https://www-ssl.intel.com/content/www/us/en/processors/architectures-software-developer-manuals.html . I hope you find this helpful.

Regards,
          JPMontero_Intel

• 2. Re: Remote Management Unit Binary
            Andromeda

JPMontero_Intel