2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 20, 2014 11:09 PM by fusionstein

Thermocouples with Intel Galileo

TexasAggie

I'm documenting my use of the Playing With Fusion MAX31855K Thermocouple Amplifier with the Intel Galileo (Gen 1) on Windows 7 for the benefit of all. I'm new to Galileo, so this discussion is friendly to someone just getting started with Galileo.

Prerequisites: Ability to open files in a text editor such as Notepad++. Ability to comment out lines in C++. Ability to solder and make electrical jumper connections.

I bought a 5 pack of bare type K thermocouples online from Omega. The red lead is the minus lead.

I bought Playing With Fusion's Playing With Fusion - MAX31855 K-Type Thermocouple Sensor Breakout (1ch) for $19, but shipping was a nasty $11. I would have bought Adafruit's product, but it was sold out.

I considered using the themocouple sensor with an Arduino, but I quickly realized that the Arduino wants 5V inputs and the thermocouple sensor only gives 3.3V out. I cried when Playing With Fusion's tech support told me I would need to buy a level switcher. Sure, the level switcher is less than $10, but I am not paying them again for expensive shipping. When I found out Intel Galileo has a jumper on it to accept 3.3V, I made the switch to Galileo.

First, set up your Galileo according to the Getting Started Guide. (USB driver, special Arduino program for Galileo [make sure to unzip it to C:\], firmware update, etc). Test it with the blink example. Test it again by changing the time of the blink, maybe 5 seconds for visual confirmation.

Next move the jumper on your Galileo board labeled IOREF to 3.3V.

Playing With Fusion confuses users with its support documents. Under Related Files, they include this example sketch that you need:

They might as well rename it to 1 ch (channel) because they intend for the user to use the 1 channel product with the 4 channel example sketch (tech support confirmed this). Unzip it to your Arduino folder.