2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 9, 2014 4:15 AM by Tom1988

Different linux images? uclibc verus eglibc images?

Tom1988

Hello,

I'm relatively new to the Gaileo and Linux. I see different Linux images available for the Galileo both on this forum and on other websites such as http://alextgalileo.altervista.org/ and I'm just wondering what is the difference between them and which is the best one? What does Alex T's 1.0.1 image have exactly that the standard SD card image that you can download has? Does this have the Arduino IDE?

Also what is the difference between uclibc verus eglibc images?

Thanks

Tom

• 1. Re: Different linux images? uclibc verus eglibc images?
          AlexT_Intel

There are several Yocto-based images (more on that later) + Debian-based image + Gentoo-based image.

Yocto builds can be uclibc- or eglibc-based. Both are embedded-targeted implementations of the foundational libc library found in Linux-based systems. uClibc is smaller (that is the reason it's default - so that the whole image with UEFI firmware and grub fits into Galileo's 8MB SPI flash), while eglibc is bigger, but more feature-complete and has higher degree of compatibility with libc.

Generally, only uclibc-based images work with Arduino IDE, with one exception I'll mention below. Eglibc-based images on the other hand, in general, are easier to use when you want to compile Linux software from sources, because of higher compatibility with standard libc.

There are following Yocto-based images I know about:

1. Official "SD card" image. uClibc-based, has WiFi drivers for supported cards + things like OpenCV, node.js and Python installed (a bit outdated versions, taken from Yocto version 1.4.2);