9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 8, 2014 10:45 AM by AlexT_Intel

Simplified documentation, recompiling, and kernel modules

tfx

I have over 15 years of Linux systems operations experience, but I am finding that this embedded system is giving me more problems than anticipated.

Part of the problem is that the documentation is spread around in PDFs, .7z files, and outdated blog posts. It's hard to make sense of what I really need and how to compile it with the Galileo target. On typical Linux boxes, I'd just download kernel sources, configure, and compile then wrap the new kernel and modules into the boot loader. All the documentation I've found has me jumping around Python scripts that break every time an update changes directory names.

Is there a way we can simply this? Alternately, is there some pre-baked build environment available with the required dependencies and patches? All I want to do is build a CIFS kernel module and a binary of OpenCV for a robot but I find myself no closer than I was eight hours ago.

If I do figure it out, I'd be glad to come back and report what I find.

---Daniel

• 1. Re: Simplified documentation, recompiling, and kernel modules
          tfx

Even simple baking using an unmodified source is failing:

:~/yocto/meta-clanton_v1.0.0/yocto_build$ bitbake image-full
          Pseudo is not present but is required, building this first before the main build
          WARNING: Host distribution "Ubuntu-14.04" has not been validated with this version of the build system; you may possibly experience unexpected failures. It is recommended that you use a tested distribution.
          Loading cache: 100% |######################################################################################| ETA:  00:00:00
          Loaded 1615 entries from dependency cache.

Build Configuration:
          BB_VERSION        = "1.18.0"
          BUILD_SYS         = "x86_64-linux"
          NATIVELSBSTRING   = "Ubuntu-14.04"