1 2 3 Previous Next 44 Replies Latest reply on May 27, 2014 12:38 PM by Hal_Allard

Galileo Setup

Hal_Allard

Setting up the Galileo board for the first time... after days of frustration I'm hoping someone has a clue... I'm also hoping to start a road map that will not only get me going but will save others endless days of frustration so they wont just give up.

I have been a developer for years... done many Arduino projects and I just can't believe the complication of this setup.

My Goal--> Setup a bootable SD card with OpenCV to communicate to the Arduino side to control hardware

So first thing, I setup Ubuntu 14.04 in virtualBox...

Download packages from here...

Software Downloads - Drivers

After downloading the packages I went here to get the instructions on setting up the cross compiler...

https://communities.intel.com/servlet/JiveServlet/previewBody/21882-102-1-25153/Quark_BSPBuildGuide_329687_001.pdf

3 days of pounding my head to realize the BSP package wont build with bitbake because the version of tar(1.2.7) can't handle the -c parameter.

Made a new virtual image with Ubuntu 12.04 with tar(1.2.6) .

re-downloaded all the packages...

Spent hours waiting for the bitbake build to complete... then when it was done I ran into issues because my OS is 64 bit and there were some compatibility issues when cross compiling

Made a new virtual image with Ubuntu 12.04 32 bit

Did a bunch of others steps

Re-re-downloaded all the packages

Cross compile finally worked

But after running "bitbake image-full -c populate_sdk" the deploy directory contained nothing to load on the SD Card... but the cross compiler worked

Installed the Arduino IDE to program the board... You think things would just work... not so... turns out virtualbox can't map the USB port to /dev/ttyAMC0

/dev/ttyAMC0 does not exist just /dev/ttyS3

So I got the windows side working so I could upload sketches