9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 20, 2014 7:28 AM by AllynH

Using Galileo for IR remote control

AllynH

Hi there,

I am trying to control my SLR camera using the Galileo as an IR remote.

I have been following some projects on line, where the IR led is controlled by a sketch (or C++ code, included in the sketch).

In particular, I've been following this project:

http://sebastian.setz.name/arduino/my-libraries/multi-camera-ir-control/

I've built the circuit and my code is compiling, I've also tested the code with a regular LED and I can see activity on the LED.

So as far as I can tell, the code works - however I have been unable to snap a picture.

A timing diagram of the command can be found here:

SB-Projects: Projects: Nikon IR-Remote Control

I'm pretty new to the Arduino scene and I don't fully understand how the pulse frequency is generated or any frequency differences between Arduino devices.

Any help with the debug is appreciated!

• 1. Re: Using Galileo for IR remote control
          SpiderKenny

In order to successfully transmit IR codes you need to be able to generate a 38 KHz square wave (possibly 36 kHz for some devices) and then turn that square wave on and off at precise intervals.

All PWM on galileo is done via the cypress chip, so it's slow and the timing is non-deterministic. Therefore the approach I'd take is to select one of the PWM channels and set it running at 38 kHz. Then I'd select and deselect the MUX on the selected pin to generate the mark/space (on/off) timings.

I Can't test this for now, so its all theoretical.

• 2. Re: Using Galileo for IR remote control
            AllynH

Hi SpiderKenny,

Sorry for the delay in my response

So I think I have a better understanding of what needs to be done but I have a few more questions:

• How do I know the frequency of the PWM pins?
            • Do all PWM pins have the same frequency?
            • Is it possible to test what frequency is being outputted?