14 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2014 5:00 AM by AlexT_Intel

problem with setting up logitech webcam on galileo

Daniel05

I've recently finding out how to link my webcam to galileo

my webcam : logitech quickcam chat

I've plugged it thru the USB host, and i can see it in lsusb

I've noticed that my webcam needs a driver called gspca , spc5xx and I've got many problems installing it

I've read lots and lots of threads about it but nothing worked for me

I've also downloaded the package by using opkg from http://iotdk.intel.com/ipk/ because i've found out it includes gspca for clanton and I've installed it(however it doesn't include spc5xx)

the problem is that I can't even modprobe or insmod gspca_main

P.S I've also made video/0 nodes but didn't workout for me

I am a newbie in linux

I really need some help

• 2. Re: problem with setting up logitech webcam on galileo
          Liam

I have had success with a Logitech webcam (and some other no-name webcams) on the Galileo, using python and opencv to talk to them and capture images. Works fine.

But only when using the clanton-full build (eglibc based), this did not work for me using the standard uclibc image. Although I wanted to use opencv, I did not try non-opencv methods.

See Intel Galileo - Building Linux Image - Malinov Family Web Presence for a description of how to build an eglibc-based image using Yocto: this takes a long time, and a Linux workstation or VM. I think there are some pre-build images out there too, search this forum for links.

The other trick to getting it working was that to after plugging in the cam, you have to

$modprobe uvcvideo

to make it load the video drivers.

Good luck

Liam

• 3. Re: problem with setting up logitech webcam on galileo
            Daniel05

i know that the uvc driver is already installed in the image

but not the gspca driver

I think it is about the installation of the driver

there are plenty of compling errors when I "Make" the driver