5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2014 11:08 PM by Andromeda

Question: Loading Intel C++ Compiled File to Galileo Board

Andromeda

I am new at Intel embedded; I have a background on other embedded systems and I want to use Intel C++ Studio to do my own C++ programming of the chip and run it on the board.

I would like to create something like my OWN operating system. In other words, I want to have deep control over the processor's registers and peripherals.

In this case, I would be installing firmware - from scratch - rather than a piece of software that could run in a preloaded operating system such as Arduino, or some form of Linux.

My question is this: if I manage to create a simple embedded application controlling, let's say, ISP communication with an external memory and I compile it in Visual Studio, how should I proceed in order to install the compiled file into the board?

Is this possible? How should I proceed?

Thanks everyone for any help or suggestions.

Best regards.

• 1. Re: Question: Loading Intel C++ Compiled File to Galileo Board
          SpiderKenny

I would start by reading the Intel Quark Software Developer's Manual and the Intel Quark Core Developer's manual.

They will explain the boot process, and how you can write your own boot loader. With your own boot loader you can write your own OS if you wish, you have complete control over what runs on the processor core.

However, I would encourage you to think carefully about why you'd want to write your own OS, when there is already one available, Linux. What can you add that isn't already there?

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Question: Loading Intel C++ Compiled File to Galileo Board
            Propst

I'm interested in seeing what you create.  Quark is well suited to running mature OS's but more specific applications are fair game.

Who knows.  Maybe someday @Andromeda's post will be as famous another piece of history.

1 of 1 people found this helpful