8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 21, 2014 3:15 AM by wawawawa

NUC will not boot. Blue LED for 0.5s then off for 3s and repeat.

wawawawa

Hi All

I have a DC53427HYE with 16GB RAM and a Plextor mSATA 6G-128GB SSD

I've been running Debian amd64 successfully on my NUC for a couple of months and love it. I added a Gbps USB3 NIC and it sits in between my LAN and broadband running a whole bunch of services. It sits as a headless server in the corner and has been operating without issue.

I rebooted a few times today to take a "dd" image of the SSD to a USB3 drive as I have decided to install Proxmox as the base OS and run the Debian image as an OpenVZ container.

I installed Proxmox and then it would not restart. The NUC started acting a bit flaky.. It was not booting after restart so I would have to unplug and replug a couple of times.

I get the blue LED for 0.5s then off for 3s and repeat with no output on the Graphics port (using Displayport).

I swapped out the RAM for a known good 8GB set and I was able to boot a couple of times - I got into Proxmox and there were no errors. I then booted up and upgraded the BIOS (using F7). It seems to be fine and I got the blue LED flashing on and off equally as expected for a BIOS upgrade.

Meanwhile the 16GB is now in my laptop and working flawlessly.

Now I cannot seem to get to the BIOS at all. I simply get the blue LED on for 0.5sec and then off for 3 or 4 sec (repeating).

Changing the jumper to get to maintenance mode also does not work.

Any ideas? Is this unit now dead?

Many thanks for any suggestions!

• 1. Re: NUC will not boot. Blue LED for 0.5s then off for 3s and repeat.
          wawawawa

If I leave the NUC for a couple of hours then it seems to be able to boot. Once it has done this I can restart at will with no issue.

However, if I pull the power out and replug it in then I need to wait a few hours.

Questions:

1 - What does "blue light on for 0.5s then off for 4s" mean? I cannot find this in the blink codes.