6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 21, 2014 5:14 PM by rmm200

Galileo WiFi modules n6205 and n135 not working, please help.

bamacken

Let me preface...I am new to the Linux environment. That said, as the title suggest I am having trouble getting WiFi working on the Galileo. The way the start up guide reads, is that both the n135 and n6205 modules are supported out of the box. I've placed the appropriate files from the little Linux image onto the SD. when I boot the device SD LED light flashes for 1 to 2 seconds, so I am assuming it's booting from the card.  In the terminal I run 'ifconfig -a' I get the following:

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 98:4F:EE:00:39:BB

UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1

RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0

TX packets:1 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0

collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000

RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:322 (322.0 B)

Interrupt:41 Base address:0x8000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback

inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0

UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1

TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0

collisions:0 txqueuelen:0

RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

I followed Sergey's blog instruction on getting the WiFi up and running but using the n135 abd the n6205 modules. After installing the firmware and modprobe iwlwifi, I see the that iwlwifi module is live. After this I am at a loss. I've tried ifconfig wlan0 up to turn the module on but I get an error message ''SIOCGIFFLAGS: No such device'.

==Starting with a fresh SD and the appropriate files I tried the following. I see that the iwlwifi module is live, but still nothing in the list.

root@clanton:~# modprobe iwlwifi

root@clanton:~# lsmod | grep iwlwifi

iwlwifi 77608 1 - Live 0xe0870000

cfg80211 188788 1 iwlwifi, Live 0xe088b000

root@clanton:~# ifconfig

Interrupt:41 Base address:0x8000