Wireless
Participate in insightful discussions regarding issues related to Intel® Wireless Adapters and technologies
7368 Discussions

7260-AC experiencing dropouts with 16.6.0.8

PKiel
Beginner

Hi all,

I just bought a Lenovo T440s which I promptly did a clean install of Windows 8.1 on. The laptop has been preforming well, but the WiFi situation is another matter. I am experiencing frequent dropouts where the OS will still think it's connected to the WiFi access point, but packets will just simply stop flowing.

I've tried everything that has been suggested on other forums. Disabling power settings, changing preferred band to 2.4gig, setting the card to 802.11b/g mode only, etc. Nothing seems to help. I've tried disabling the bluetooth functionality both in BIOS and in device manager but I still experience dropouts.

This is very frustrating for two reasons: I am a consultant and go on-site to work with client equipment so having my connection die for no reason repeatedly is both unprofessional and awkward, not to mention disruptive if I'm working with a time sensitive issue. The second reason is that Lenovos have a wifi card whitelist so I can't simply replace this M.2 NGFF WiFi card with something that works better. I need Intel to address the situation with their drivers, or I need to resort to something ugly and hack-ish like an external USB wifi adapter which, quite frankly, is unacceptable having just spent $1400 on a new laptop.

I've religiously updated the drivers and software as recommended by both Lenovo and Intel and I'm still experiencing the frequent dropouts. Is there light at the end of this tunnel? I'd be happy with a glimmer of hope right now.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Jose_H_Intel1
Employee

I am really sorry for the issue you are experiencing.

A new driver version will be released soon, please stay tuned.

It is also recommended to update your AP's firmware.