8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 1, 2014 1:45 PM by AlexT_Intel

Bricked Galileo? Assert EFI ERROR

Clayton Hofrock

My Galileo no longer can be detected as a COM device when I connect it to my computer.

I connected up the Serial cable to it and here is the output from the serial cable when it is trying to boot up.

EFI_Assert.jpg

Since I cannot detect a COM port I cannot upgrade the firmware, to put a new firmware image on it. Is there anything else I should try?

• 1. Re: Bricked Galileo? Assert EFI ERROR
          AlexT_Intel

I'm by no means an expert here, but as far as I understand, you can flash it either using the CapsuleApp.efi (i.e. from the onboard EFI shell), or using DediProg, if it's not getting as far as the EFI shell. The BSP Build Guide has instructions on that, see Section 10 (https://communities.intel.com/servlet/JiveServlet/downloadBody/21882-102-1-25153/Quark_BSPBuildGuide_329687_001.pdf).

Out of the curiosity - how did you get the board to that state? I'm currently preparing to try the newer 0.8.0 BSP on my board and as long as I haven't done many such FW upgrades yet, I'm gathering the information around on what can go wrong to make sure I'm prepared :-)

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Bricked Galileo? Assert EFI ERROR
            intel_jassowski

I am having the same symptoms with my Galileo.  The symptoms occurred between power cycles: i.e. it did not happen as a result of attempting to download a new sketch, or due to a FW upgrade.

• 3. Re: Bricked Galileo? Assert EFI ERROR
              intel_jassowski

I've copied the messages from the serial port as it boots:

¦Ftw: Init.. find first record not SpareCompleted, abort()
              Ftw: Abort() success
              Ftw: Allocate() success, Caller:FE5CEA76-4F72-49E8-986F-2CD899DFFE5D, # 1

Press [Enter] to directly boot.
                   Press [F7]    to show boot menu options.

ASSERT_EFI_ERROR (Status = Bad Buffer Size)