10 Replies Latest reply on Oct 31, 2013 5:37 PM by jiri

Celeron NUC

Ronellisr63

I have 2 i3 NUCs and I just purchased a Celeron NUC last month... The Celeron NUC has a loud fan noise. I went into the Bios and changed the time to 40% but it is still noisy... My i3 NUCs are dead silent with the same settings. Is this common with the Celeron?

tia,

Ron

• 1. Re: Celeron NUC
          JasonHoffman

Hi Ron,

My Celeron NUC is pretty much silent so I wouldn't consider loud fan noise normal.  Even under heavy load I don't hear much from it.  Can you compare the fan control settings on the Celeron to the i3?  I'm curious to see if anything is set differently.

I have an i3 and when I started playing around with the fan control I got it to the point where it was pretty noisy.  When I set everything back to the original settings it went back to being super quiet. I made the changes initially because I was concerned about overheating but I've never had a lock up or heat-related problem on either of them.

I hope this helps!

Jason

• 2. Re: Celeron NUC
            Ronellisr63

I just checked my Celeron NUC and the settings are 40, 40, 13. With this I have a temp of 64c, and a fan speed of 6398. On the i3 NUC I have it set at 40, 40, 8. With this setting I get a temp of 54c and a fan speed of 6398... But a dead silent PC (I can barely tell it is even running with my ear next to it).

My noise is a loud enough to where I can hear it over 10' away.

• 3. Re: Celeron NUC
              JasonHoffman

Ron,

I contacted someone on the NUC team and they tested a Celeron NUC with the settings you're using.  They noticed a slight increase in the fan noise: "I had 3 other people listen and they said the Celeron NUC fan was slightly ‘louder’ mostly due to a higher pitch coming from it." They recommended you switch to the default temp settings as the one you're using is very low. With the default settings the fan should be much quieter.

Thanks.

Jason

1 of 1 people found this helpful