Processors
Intel® Processors, Tools, and Utilities
14527 Discussions

Processor (4770) reaching 100C!!

AA24
Beginner

Hello everyone, I'm new here and hope someone would be able to help me.

I just built a new computer few days ago. The specs are as follows:

i7 4770 processor

Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H motherboard

Kingston HyperX Beast 16 GB (2x8 GB) 2400MHz DDR3 PC3-19200

XFX AMD Radeon 7990 6gb

PSU Coolermaster Silent pro gold 1000w

I have disabled the onboard sound and graphics, I'm using USB speakers.

I have on SSD and one HDD

And this case: http://www.coolermaster.com/product/Detail/case/mid-tower-k-series/k280.html Cooler Master: K280

As soon as I started playing BattleField 3, I noticed the fans of the computer really loud, I touched the case (motherboard side) and it was hot. I checked the temperatures after 10 minutes of play, and it was 100 degrees Celsius!

Typically, I suspected that the heatsink was not mounted correctly, I reseated the heatsink even though it appeared to be seated correctly. Problem persisted. I tried to rewire the cables so not to obstruct the airflow... there was few degrees drop during idle but did not reduce the 100C degrees after 10 minutes game play.

I removed the stock heatsink and thermal paste. I got Cooler Master Hyper 212 X with Cooler Master thermal paste. I also updated my motherboard bios and adjusted the bios CPU performance settings from "auto" to "normal" (CPU voltage, frequency, etc)... and installed a side fan to cool the GPU. I did not install exhaust fan at the upper rear side of the case because as expected the exhaust flow seemed to be OK.

Now, the temperature during gameplay is under 71 degrees however I've noticed that the max temperature reached (as shown in HWMonitor) was 85C and in another gaming session 75C. The CPU fan max speed was recorded at 15K ! Normal operation usually around 2.5K.