10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 4, 2013 9:51 PM by jezzarino

I believe my system is overheating

PoorTom1004

So I've had the Intel DX58SO2 desktop motherboard and Intel Core i7-940 CPU for over 2 years now.  I had been using it as a Hyper-V Server 2008 R2, and using another system to RDP in to.  Recently, I decided to convert it to a gaming system.  So I upgraded my graphics card and started interfacing with the system directly.

I started playing games like StarCraft 2, Diablo 3, Team Fortress 2, and so on.  Not very graphically intensive games.  I started noticing that after a certain amount (what seemed to be random) amount of time, my system would freeze up.  My first instinct was that my system was overheating.  So I opened up my case and felt around to see if I could find out what was overheating.  What I found out was that my GPU was often VERY hot to the touch.  My first instinct after that was I thought there was something wrong with my GPU (EVGA GeForce GTX560).

So I borrowed a friend's GPU, an AMD ATI Radeon card (I can't recall the model, but it was something released about a year ago).  I also used the old GPU from my still operating, old system (EVGA 8800 GTS).  Neither of these cards have a history of overheating.  In every case, the GPU seemed very hot to the touch.  So I determined there's nothing wrong with the GPU, but something else.

To further prove that the GPU is not to blame for my system freezing, I've noticed my system freeze when I'm simply watching YouTube videos.  Yes, I know that browsers these days do take advantage of GPU processing power, especially for playing video, but I mean YouTube seriously should not be causing my system to freeze.