6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 4, 2009 8:51 PM by August717

DG45ID BIOS - Updating from 0079 (bricked my motherboard)

August717

I have been using my DG45ID for a few months now with no problems.  I recently attempted to upgrade the BIOS from 0079 to the most recent BIOS upgrade.  The power went out (at just the wrong moment) and interrupted the BIOS installation.  Restarting the computer, there was no response from the mother board.  There are power lights and the fans spin, but no beeps and no video display.

I have attempted to use the recovery method using a CD-ROM, as the .BIO is too large for a floppy disc.  Unfortunately, I still get no response from the motherboard.  I have disconnected everything except the processor, memory, and CD-ROM drive.  I have an Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 processor, 4x Crucial 2 GB DDR2 800 RAM, LG Blu-Ray / HD-DVD GGC-H20L Drive, and an Antec ATX12V v2.2 500W Power Supply.  As I said before, this system worked before the attempted BIOS update.

I followed the instructions (listed below) for recovery with a CD-ROM, and copied the .BIO file to a CD.  When I power the system back on (step 6), rather then go through a normal BIOS recovery, the screen stays black (as far as I can tell, there is no signal output).  When it is sitting here, the drive does spin up and stay spinning for the duration that it is on.  I have let it sit on this screen for an hour to make sure it wasn't attempting a BIOS recovery without video, and on reboot there is no change.  I have also attempted to remove the battery for 24 hours.  I reinstalled the battery, powered the system on, and attempted the recovery again without success.

I have never had a problem like this before on an Intel board.   Can anyone recommend something for me to try?  Maybe a more detailed step-by-step on how to use the recovery .BIO?  Maybe I am doing something wrong, and I just don't know it.

Recovery with CD-ROM